top of page
Search
  • mayahaims5

Reading Blog 2 - Immersive Art

Updated: Apr 4, 2023

“UK's 'largest immersive arts experience'—showing huge digital images of Cezanne and Klimt—planned for London”



With so many new technological advancements emerging constantly in the digital age, we now have different, arguable cooler ways of viewing the works. With the growing popularity of immersive art exhibits, art lovers now have a more overwhelming way to be interacting with the art, having it surround and engulf them entirely. A new exhibition calling itself Frameless is supposed to be the largest of these interactive art exhibits in the United Kingdom and plan to display art from many of the greats such as: Rembrandt, Cezanne, Monet, and Kandinsky. This exhibition will transform these famous works and have it projected in 4K resolution across the floor and ceiling in addition to all four walls of the room, completely immersing viewers in the artwork itself. People will literally be able to feel like they are living in the universe of that artwork, which to me sounds incredible. I also think this is an awesome new art form because it merges the famous artworks that people know with the talents of the new artists of the digital age. It’s a way of reinventing classic artworks to fit our new world that’s run by technology. This new form of immersive entertainment as an industry was valued at a staggering $45.7 Billion back in 2020. These exhibitions can be so immersive that some even utilize perfumes to activate people’s olfactory senses, allowing people to actually ‘smell’ the art, allowing them to truly imagine they are there in the painting. This article believes that this can be a very lucrative business for many artists and commercial galleries. If these become more cost efficient over time for art lovers to attend, I would love if this were the direction the world of art exhibition will go in because I would be so happy if we had as much ability as possible to be fully submersed in the art. I can’t wait to go to more of these awesome new immersive exhibits as they grow and improve technologically!


Images:



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading Blog #3

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/are-ai-image-generators-stealing-from-artists-180981488/ Are A.I. Image Generators Violating Copyright Laws? Two new lawsuits argue that tools like Midjourney

Projection Mapping Final Project

Although this was a really interesting project and I had a great time exhibiting my art, my final artwork was very different from what I had originally envisioned. I know that isn’t a bad thing, and a

Projection Mapping Brainstorm Blog

I am super excited to see how our exhibition turns out. For this project, I have decided to make a part 2, video version of my ‘Feeling of Songs’ zine from DA1. Ideally, I would like to do at least tw

bottom of page