top of page
Search
  • mayahaims5

Projection Mapping Final Project

Updated: May 5, 2023

Although this was a really interesting project and I had a great time exhibiting my art, my final artwork was very different from what I had originally envisioned. I know that isn’t a bad thing, and actually that is one of the most exciting parts about creating art, I do wish I had more pride in my final piece. I think the hard part of creating it for me was finding an object that got me excited because I was really eager to get working on what I would actually be projecting onto said object. I had made a few trips to different thrift stores with minimal success until finally I stumbled upon a small white house at a garage sale right across from my apartment. The house, however, was too small to be the standalone object in my artwork so I needed to get creative and figure out how to make my artwork more interesting in the few days I had before the exhibition. Since the scale of the building was the main issue I had with it, I decided I wanted to play around with that scale by taking an obviously small object normally, like a newborn baby, and make it much larger than it would be in real life, making a weird Twilight Zone effect against the house. Personally, I am really enjoying how strange my piece is because I love how weird and random artworks tickle my brain in fun ways, but I also don’t find my exhibited artwork to be anything special as it is right now. Comparing what I had made for this final projection mapping project with our first project, if I was given the choice, I definitely think I would have preferred putting my Ai images up for exhibition instead of what I actually put up with the house and baby. I am much happier with my collection of glitched Ai images because I definitely see them as a more completed and polished display of my artistic style. Regardless of how proud I am with my final projection mapping artwork, the programs and different techniques in which we created digital art in this class, like using coding and audio softwares as a way of visually editing images, are undoubtably the creative and exciting ways that I want to make my own art in the future. The things that I have learned from DA2 have certainly helped me discover a wealth of new inspiration and helped me uncover where my passions in art really lie. I am extremely excited to push myself to push the boundaries and see the awesome and fun artworks I am going to make and break in the future!



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading Blog #3

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/are-ai-image-generators-stealing-from-artists-180981488/ Are A.I. Image Generators Violating Copyright Laws? Two new lawsuits argue that tools like Midjourney

Projection Mapping Brainstorm Blog

I am super excited to see how our exhibition turns out. For this project, I have decided to make a part 2, video version of my ‘Feeling of Songs’ zine from DA1. Ideally, I would like to do at least tw

Madmapper Pop Quiz

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-jAoHikFMUs4i6BQvPdgDuA5G41i3-q2/view?usp=sharing

bottom of page